The Cartography of My Writing Workflow

When it comes to the many facets of my life, one element is remarkably consistent: I am a planner. While I do also enjoy a fair dose of spontaneity, sometimes to the great surprise of those who are close to me, I confess that I’m most comfortable with structure the majority of the time. I like clear expectations for course assignments. I like meal planning before going grocery shopping. I like deciding on my outfit in advance of a social event.

My planner tendencies most certainly take hold in my academic writing. I believe much of the writing process is about planning and research, and I spend a lot of energy upfront on those tasks before even thinking of opening a fresh Word document. Back in the day, in my early undergrad years, I didn’t spend as much time conceptualizing beforehand and more time free writing. When I started to spend more time planning I found I saved far more time when I actually opened that Word document, and had a better end product.

The conceptualization part of any paper is the hardest part for me, and I like to know what I’m doing before sitting down to write. While it is a challenge, conceptualizing is also an exciting dialogue for me because I’m reading sources and organizing my ideas in tandem.

Liking structure does not make me an orderly thinker, and this really shows up in my conceptualizations. I write out my ideas by hand and not as neat blocks of colour-coded bullet points: I have assorted ideas written out all over whatever sheet of paper I happen to have in front of me at the time, with arrows all over the place!

While likely indecipherable to most, this road map is my essential companion in the journey of paper writing. It contains a solid thesis and the key points I will be making, and I piece together the fine-grained details as I finally turn to that fresh Word document. My road map is my lifesaver; I know where I’m going, but there’s space for detours or adjustments as needed.

While making a road map has made my writing life significantly better, I also believe it to be a coping mechanism to deal with the uncomfortable unknowns of research. I make a map to trouble-shoot in advance all the potential things that can go wrong, because if something goes amiss I may fail to meet a deadline, or at least fail to meet a deadline to my standards.

This is where one of my great snags of writing comes in: the production demands and deadlines. I find the sheer volume of writing and the constant deadlines in the university environment to be daunting, and these pressures can really clamp down on my joy of writing. Perhaps this constant worry is why I find the conceptualization of a paper to be the hardest task; those pressures weigh in the background and prevent a carefree exploration of ideas.

My second great snag comes towards the end of my writing process as I am checking to make sure I have referenced everything that needs to be referenced. The questions come fast and furious: Is this truly my own idea? Did someone else say it? Do I need to cite it?

It has been drilled into me that plagiarism is a great academic offense and committing it, even by accident, will lead to the complete annihilation of one’s academic prospects. This is why I take plagiarism very seriously, to the point it can be stifling. I have been told I have a tendency to over-cite and I feel my own thoughts can sometimes get buried under a mountain of citations. Contrary to what I was taught, knowing when to cite is not always straightforward.

And with that, I embark on my next road trip: a writing course for my Master’s degree. With the key in the ignition, my feet hovering above the clutch and the gas (plus the brake, if need be), and my hand ready to shift into first gear, I look forward to journeying towards an enhanced writing process.


6 responses to “The Cartography of My Writing Workflow”

  1. Bailey – I think you’ve beautifully captured the irony of maps – a map provides direction, but someone has to journey into the unknown to make a map. You’ve found a new puzzle to study for your Masters, and although there are some trodden paths, you will soon have to diverge. ”Here be monsters”! Enjoy the trip into the unknown

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Bailey: A few follow up questions. Are you a note-taker? How do you get to the outline stage? Do you work in silence or with music? In the AM or the afternoon or the evening? How do you self-edit your work? Do you rely on others to engage your work?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Andy, thanks for your questions! I’ll do my best to provide clear answers for all of them.

      I am absolutely 100% a note-taker. I write notes for everything I read to varying degrees of detail, which is dependent on what I need from a source. This is extraordinarily helpful when I get to the actual writing and need to remember certain details/examples. My notes also help me pull out broad themes which help with making my road map. However, to minimize reading irrelevant sources for the project at hand, I do look at abstracts before investing in the process of note-taking for a given reading.

      I would say my road map is my outline. I go through many versions of my road map to make my ideas more clear and to develop a cohesive narrative for my paper, which really means me adding more arrows and assorted bullet points. When this gets indecipherable even for me, I’ll write it out on a fresh sheet of paper, or simply on the other side of my existing sheet of paper, and I continue road mapping until I am satisfied with the structure. Only at that point do I open my Word document.

      Unfortunately, I have a low tolerance for sound as I’m writing or doing other academic work, but it has improved since beginning my Master’s degree. My ideal conditions are near silence with little going on in the background. I can’t work to music because I’ll just be vibing the whole time and/or listening too intently to the lyrics. Instrumental music doesn’t work either because it is often very complex and my brain will be enjoying that instead of focusing on writing. The one thing I can listen to is alpha waves on YouTube; they do wonders for my concentration and can actually lengthen my work sessions. I’ll also listen to those sound waves to drown out background noise if it’s too loud for me to write.

      I work best in the morning and the evening, although I tend to feel more creative in the evening. I think it must be something to do with the coziness of the darkness outside once the sun has set. In the afternoon I can get work done, but it can also be a bit of a dead zone.

      Drafting and editing go hand-in-hand with me. With my road map/outline ready to go, I open that Word document and start writing. I start at the beginning and gradually work my way through the paper in order throughout multiple sessions. When I begin a new session (after that first one), I read back on what I have already written and edit before continuing to write. At the very end of all this, when the entire paper exists, I go back and do even more intense editing. Once the editing is done, I check my references.

      I’m pretty solitary as a writer, but I would like to change that to an extent. Early in the conceptualization stage, it’s hard for me to discuss my paper ideas with others because I haven’t had enough time to digest the ideas for myself. Given how I write papers I also don’t exactly have complete first drafts to read, but I would welcome the opportunity to engage more with others. I do like to send my papers to my dad before I submit them though because he has a great eye for grammatical errors.

      Like

  3. The map is a wonderful metaphor and tool! However scrabbled it looks, it both makes the thoughts tangible and visible (and the connections and the layers and the dead-ends). The mess of the map is a travel guide, a record of the journey, and – writing! I’m starting to think we call all of this writing – even conceptualization is writing. 

    I hope to learn with you about how much citation is enough. I have heard someone remind that citation serves to turn your statement from idea towards truth (the kind of academic truth that consensus materializes) and serves to show with whom you are aligned, which club you’re in, if any. I think it’s easier for me to ask myself if I’ve satisfied these things, rather than if I managed to find every applicable source. But there’s interesting citation-revolt happening, too, in academia. This intrigues me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started